Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.



   Capt. Peggy Van Vleet 


Captain Of The Year






November 7, 2011

LECBA Board Meeting

Monday, November 7, 2011

Moose Lodge Port Clinton


The meeting was called to order by President Rick Unger at 6:20 PM

Members present: Jerry Abele, Ron Eickholt, Mel Fenger, Eric Gahn, Jeff Goehring, Don Lowther, Mike Matta, Paul Pacholski, Pete Scheid, Rick Unger, Barry Witt, Bob Witt, Dave Whitt

Guests present: Dave Durst, Becky Unger, Jo Lowther, Theresa Behrends, Sandee Abele, Ron Lamont, Kim Salinas

Motion made by Bob Witt to approve the October minutes. Seconded by Barry Witt. Passed by the Board.

Treasurer’s Report given by Don Lowther. Motion to accept the report by Paul Pacholski. Seconded by Mel Fenger. Passed by the Board.

Committee Updates:

Jerry Abele attended a meeting with the Department of Agriculture concerning ways to promote farming and deal with the phosphorus issues. He feels this issue is headed in the right direction and will be attending another meeting.

Elections report by Mel Fenger:

No new nominations have been received. No election will be held.

Jerry Abele, Chris Moore, Pete Scheid, Barry Witt and Bob Witt will all serve another three year term as Board members.

President Unger and Paul Pacholski attend a meeting in Columbus. Directors and Chiefs were in attendance. Apology to Bob Witt on the happenenings of Governor’s Day. The LECBA has committed to one more year of the program. A reception/mixer is planned for the night before the event at The Pond. Overall the meeting was a success.

Health of Lake Erie Conference:

Being held tomorrow November 8, 2011 at the Moose Lodge in Port Clinton. About 125-150 people have registered. Free to LECBA members, $10 non-member. Thank you to Jeff Goehring for securing the location for the event.

President Unger has been attending meetings in Chicago concerning the Asian carp issue. Suggestions have been made and the voice of the LECBA has been heard. A final plan is to be completed by February to present to Congress.

Mike Matta and President Unger will be attending a meeting November 17/18 to give guidance as to how fish will be allocated. Roger Knight will head the meeting. More information to come.

Captain of the Year:

Nominations for Captain of the Year need to be received by Saturday, December 10. Nominations can be emailed or mailed to:

Kelly Collins

735 Timber Lane

Port Clinton, OH 43452

Next meeting will be held on Monday, December 12, 2011 at Porky’s Restaurant.

Motion made to adjourn by Mel Fenger. Seconded by Dave Whitt. Passed by the Board.