Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.



   Capt. Peggy Van Vleet 


Captain Of The Year






Feb 14, 2011

LECBA Board Meeting

Monday February 14, 2011 

Board members present: Jerry Abele, Ron Eickholt, Mel Fenger, Eric Gahn, Jeff Goehring, Don Lowther, Chris Moore, Paul Pacholski, Pete Scheid, John Tucholski, Rick Unger, Barry Witt, Bob Witt

Guests present: Sandee Abele, Mike Libben, Steve Davis, Charlie Eulitt

Meeting was called to order by President Rick Unger at 6:15 PM at Wild Wings Restaurant.

Presentation by Mike Libben of the Ottawa Soil and Water District

Treasurer’s Report by Don Lowther.

Mel Fenger and Jeff Goehring will set up a table/booth at the upcoming Captain’s Conference to promote membership for the LECBA.

Presidents Report:

Sympathies to the Witt Family on the loss of their father.

President Unger has heard from Neil Kagan on the Open Lake Dumping case. It is still not settled but he will testify again if necessary.

President Unger received a call from the NCCBA thanking the LECBA for all their help and to Sandee Abele for her assistance with their drug program audit.

Jerry Abele, Paul Pachoski and Rick Unger attended a meeting in Sandusky for the Division of Wildlife. They want to meet Ray Petering’s replacement to set up a working relationship. They are confident limits will not be cut this season.

On Saturday, February 26 President Unger will attend the Amish Sportsman Association meeting to promote membership.

President Unger will attend a meeting in Chicago on February 16. The carp czar and the DNR director will be in attendance.

Saturday, March 5 Captain’s Conference

March 24 - 25 TAC meeting

Friday: comments Saturday: results

Presentation by Steve Davis of the Department of Agriculture

(Western Lake Erie Basin Partnership)

Discussion about current watershed issues

More information can be found at

Next meeting will be Monday, March 14, at Waldo Pepper’s in Port Clinton.

Motion to adjourn made by Paul Pacholski at 9:00 PM. Seconded by Mel Fenger. Passed by the Board.