Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.



   Capt. Peggy Van Vleet 


Captain Of The Year






Board Minutes

March 10, 2008

Meeting was held at Windjammers Restaurant.
The meeting was called to order by President Rick Unger at 6:30 PM.

Members present: Bob Collins, Jerry Abele, Steve Conner, Ron Eicholt, Charley Eulitt, Mel Fenger, Jeff Goehring, Mike Karhoff, Don Lowther, Mike Matta, Paul Pacholski, Barry Witt, Bob Witt, Dave Whitt, Rick Unger

Guests present: Bob Hayner, Mike Wojtowicz

Motion made by Mike Matta to approve the February minutes, seconded by Paul Pacholski.

Treasurer’s Report:
Detailed report given by Don Lowther.
Motion made by Charley Eulitt seconded by Mike Matta to accept the Treasurer’s Report.

Old Business:
On February 23, 2008 Rick Unger and Bob Collins attended the Amish Sportsman Association meeting. There will be a link on the LECBA website to apply for the TWIC CARD that all captains must have by September 29, 2008.

On March 1, 2008, the Captain’s Conference was held. 215 in attendance. All went well.

March 5-6, 2008 Rick Unger attended the Wildlife Council hearing and meetings. Pros/cons were presented for the rule changes and proposals.

Upcoming events:

March 12-16: Cleveland Sportsman Show
Joe Thomas will be working the booth several days. A portion of his poster sales will benefit LECBA children’s programs.

March 17-18: TAC Meeting in Niagara Falls
There is still space available for one more person. Contact Rick Unger for further info at 216 401-6231 or

March 19: Ohio Lake Erie Commission meeting in Oak Harbor, Ohio
Rick Unger has further information if interested.

March 20: Meeting with Marcy Kaptur
This meeting will address the Homeland Security issues. There is only room for twenty to attend. The meeting will be held at the Ottawa County Courthouse on Madison St. in Port Clinton at 3:00 PM.

President Unger emailed Ontario about online fishing licenses. A response was received that something was in the works. Discussion about I-68 licenses and the 3171 licenses was discussed. Log onto for the 3171 forms at the Custom Boarder Patrol website.

Correspondences were received from the following via mail/email:
Dan Foot, Peggy Van Fleet, Roger Knight, Fred Snyder, Mike Goble
A copy of the banner that is to be displayed at the Sportsman show with Joe Thomas was received.
A copy of the registration form for the MS tourney was received.
Ohio Enhanced Licenses: State of Ohio does not have them yet.
LECBA media releases shared.

Mike Matta discussed Governor’s Day. It will be held on Monday, July 7, 2008. Would like to see Board member participation. In need of 17 – 20 boats again this year. Contact Mike if interested 614 846-3430

Kid’s Fish Free Week is still scheduled for the 2nd week of August.

Round Table:
Ron Eicholt discussed that the Commercial Fishing issue is a National situation.

Mike Karhoff posed questions about the division of the basins and commercial fishing.

Paul Pacholski discussed the issue of possible stocking of Sauger in Lake Erie. He has spoke with Roger Knight and Jeff Tyson about the possibility but there are no funds to do such a thing.

Steve Conner mentioned he would like to put some pressure on DNR to see things being put back into Lake Erie and get things done. Not just an answer of “doing research”

Mike Matta brought budget questions to the table. We need to become creative.

Jeff Goehring discussed the new regulations for minnows.

Charley Eulitt mentioned that we should research the issue of Sauger stocking, to insure that it is a good idea for the Lake.

President Unger stated that he would like to start putting volunteers together to get started on some upcoming events. He would like members for upcoming by-law work, Captain of the Year and an elections committee.

The next meeting will be held at Wild Wings on Monday, April 14, 2008 at 6:00
Officer Yeager of the Sandusky Customs Office will attend as our guest speaker.

With no further business, Bob Witt motioned to adjourn at 8:35 PM. Seconded by Mike Karhoff.