Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.



   Capt. Peggy Van Vleet 


Captain Of The Year






Board Minutes

November 12, 2007


Meeting was held at The Angry Trout restaurant. The Meeting was called to order by Pres. Bob Collins at 6:25pm Present: Bob Collins, Don Lowther, Ron Eicholt, Jerry Abele, Steve Connor, Mike Karhoff, Paul Pacholski, Pete Scheid, Bob Witt, Dan Welsh, Charley Eulitt, Mike Matta and Rick Unger. Absent: Mel Fenger. Barry Witt and Don Mitchell
Guests: Jeff Goehring, Ted Walsh and Sandee Abele

Motion made by Ron Eicholt seconded by Paul Pacholski to accept the minutes.

Treasurers Report:
Don Lowther presented a detailed treasures report.
Don Lowther reported that he received correspondence from Capt. Wanda Moorehead that suggested that the fee for the drug program should be raised, but after a review of the books he suggests that the cost to the captains should remain the same.

Don Lowther suggested that we should use our low drug program charge as part of our promotion at the sportsman’s show.

Ron Eicholt moved to accept the minutes and recommendations of the Treasurer; motion was seconded by Mike Matta and passed.

New/Old Business:
Mike Karhoff made a motion that the LECBA acknowledge Capt. Wanda Moorehead for all her work on the LECBA drug program, it was suggested that Sandee Abele secure a gift for $100.00 and report to Secretary Unger. Pete Scheid seconded the motion and it passed.

Mike Matta made a motion seconded by Steve Connor that all members should receive the Ohio Outdoor News motion passed.

Bob Witt asked about the Ohio Outdoor News subscription and asked if the subscription could start anytime a new membership was received. Treasurer Don Lowther stated the logistical problems involved and stated that all subscriptions should start on January 1 following the membership renewal. After much discussion it was decided that the subscription to the Ohio Outdoor News would begin on January 1 following members joining or renewing their membership to LECBA.

Mike Karhoff stated that he would like to see membership cards be sent out within thirty days of receiving dues, it was agreed that every effort would be made to issue the cards within thirty days.

Mike Matta reported that the Water Bill, which funds the carp barrier, has been approved in congress.

Mike Matta stated that he would testify in the Ohio House and Senate in support of legislation exempting small boats for discharge.

Mike Matta stated that the EPA is expected to run the operation and enforcement, Jerry Abele stated that this should be a serious issue for the LECBA.

Jeff Goehring reported on the bait situation in Ohio.

Rick Unger reported on the on going meetings for the Ohio Lake Erie Fishing Regulatory Reform Task Force and stated that both he and Bob Collins sat on the committee representing sport fishermen. Ron Eicholt stated that he would like to know when the meetings are held. Rick Unger stated that he would post the meeting dates and times on the website for LECBA.

Ron Eicholt stated that he would like to see ballots for this years elections sent to members by mail, Rick Unger seconded and stated that he would send out the ballots, motion passed.

Charley Eulitt made a motion to send a letter to business members to join or rejoin by the 2008 deadline, Rick Unger amended to include all Captains by 6/01/08 Mike Matta Seconded motion passed.

With no further business before the board Dan Welsh moved and Mike Matta seconded to adjourn the meeting.

The next meeting of the LECBA is scheduled for 6:00 pm at the Angry Trout on December 10, 2007.

Rick Unger stated that the LECBA would need a new secretary if he were elected as president.

Charley Eulitt recommended a separate meeting for nominations.

There being no further business a motion to adjourn was made by Ron Eicholt and seconded by Charley Eulitt meeting was adjourned at 8:15 pm.